Vivanco: IACHR decision leaves autocrats who want to hold on to power without a bottom

José Miguel Vivanco, American director of Human Rights Watch, highlighted the decision of the Inter-American Court to re-elect the president indefinitely.

He said this decision goes against the autocrats who, by distorting the principles of human rights, are trying to hold onto power.

“Transcendental decision of @CorteIDH: The judges have ruled that an indefinite re-election of the president runs counter to regional human rights obligations. This decision leaves several autocrats who have wrongly represented human rights in power, ”the activist wrote on his Twitter account.

The Inter-American Court of Justice released the ruling on the opinion this Friday, which concluded that “unlimited re-election of the president is not an autonomous human right” and is in violation of the American Convention and the American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man. It notes that the persistence of a president’s power over a prolonged period affects independence and the separation of powers.

You can also read:  Aasana workers ignore the director and start protests

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights has officially published on its website its opinion on the opinion formulated by the Colombian government on the “Number of unlimited re-elections of the president in the context of the Inter-American human rights system”, which was adopted on December 7th.

Regarding the human rights norms of indefinite re-election of the president, the Court stressed that “the lack of restrictions on the re-election of the president weakens the political parties and movements that make up the opposition because they lack clear expectations of him to have”. Possibility of access to exercise power “.

It is also warned that prolonged exercise of power by a president affects independence and the separation of powers, as he may have the power to appoint members of other state powers.

You can also read:  Case studies: Sosa points out Jhonny and Panama calls for Parada to be extradited

The Court of Justice was formed as follows: Judge Elizabeth Odio Benito, President (Costa Rica); Judge Patricio Pazmiño Freire, Vice President; (Ecuador), Judge Eduardo Vio Grossi (Chile); Judge Humberto Antonio Sierra Porto (Colombia); Judge Eduardo Ferrer Mac-Gregor (Mexico); Judge Eugenio Raúl Zaffaroni (Argentina) and Judge Ricardo Pérez Manrique (Uruguay).

The judges Pazmiño and Zaffaroni published their individual votes against.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here